School Birthday “treats”

A huge concern of mine is all the “treats” or junk my children are offered at school.  In a classroom of 24 kids with 24 birthdays celebrated in 9 months thats 2.7 birthdays a month. Thats blue frosting, high fructose corn syrup, chemicals, preservatives, sugar, and dyes offered to our kids usually without us knowing. It is also 23 celebrations my children cant participate in. Yes, I’m that parent, my kids say “No Thank You” and watch everyone else  consume the dyes and chemicals. So this past year we tried to set an example to show that birthday celebrations do not need to revolve around the consumption of unhealthy treats. I am also trying to change the way our school handles these celebrations and school rewards, by eliminating “food” as treats and turning to prizes or treats that are not food of any sort. Yes, I could have sent fruit or veggies but I was trying to show that we can celebrate without eating something. These are the 3 treats my younger children took this past school year to celebrate their birthdays.

Lucy took jump ropes for each child in her class. She was turning 11 and was in 5th grade. They cost me $1.00 each. We attached a little poem to each one that read:

Hip Hip Hooray,

It’s Lucy’s birthday!

Lets all jump for joy,

because she got you this cool toy!

Thanks for celebrating her day,

now lets go outside and PLAY!

IMG_2106

Charley was turning 9 and in 2nd grade. Charley took pins. These cost me about $.10 each. 

Thank you for making my birthday out of the world.

Thank you for making my birthday ROCK!

IMG_2924

Finnegan was turning 7 and in 1st grade. He gave everyone tubes of glow sticks. Cost $1.00 each.

Thanks for making my birthday CHEERY and BRIGHT!

IMG_3490My Children did not complain that they weren’t taking cupcakes or cookies. They also told me everyone was really excited to have something to take home. Yes we can all complain about the $1 toys and trinkets that clutter our homes but I would much rather have my house  full of clutter than my children full of poisons and chemicals. We may not be able to change how everyone thinks but we can lead by example and show others their are alternatives.

3 responses

  1. Thanks for the wonderful ideas! we are a HFCS/dye-free family too and it’s SO hard to teach your kids to make healthy choices when so many “treats” are offered to them at school. Don’t even get me started on Valentine’s Day and Halloween. Yikes! These are GREAT ideas that I am totally going to use. THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

