Strawberry-Lemon Muffins

2013-01-27 17.23.16

Strawberry Love

I had just bought 2 large Costco size containers of strawberries when the local store had a sale on beautiful strawberries that we just couldn’t pass up. I thought I would just freeze them for smoothies but then I reconsidered and set out to make a muffin. I couldn’t find a recipe that was meeting all our diet needs so I combined a few and decided to throw in some lemon. They turned out super moist and delicious! And my kids (once again) proclaimed these as the best yet! Just so you know they say this every time i make a new muffin. LOL They will also make a perfect Valentines treat in their school lunches.

Ingredients

-2 1/4 cups almond flour
-1 teaspoon baking soda
-1/2 teaspoon sea salt
-2 eggs (egg replacer)
-1/4 cup honey (or maple syrup)
-1/4 cup coconut oil
-2 teaspoons vanilla extract
-1 cup of chopped fresh strawberries

-Zest of one small lemon or 1/2 a large lemon

-1/2 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

2013-01-27 17.20.22

 

Direction:
1. Preheat oven to 350 and line muffin tin
2. Mix together all ingredients in a medium bowl
3. Carefully fold in strawberries
4. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until muffins come out clean with a toothpick
5. Let cool for 10 minutes
6. Enjoy and/or store in fridge

Makes about 6-7 muffins!

3 responses

  1. Did you double this recipe for your family? I am surprised it only makes 6-7 muffins…Sounds delicious though!! I will try this one for sure.

  2. Dannika and I both loved them! I didn’t use almond flour so I had to tweak the liquids a little but YUM! I think maybe I should get some almond flour though…anyways thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

